This forum is for the listing of "Wanted" and "For sale" items that are related to birding and natural history.
By mlev
Hi,

Currently I'm using:

Nikon D300
Nikkor 70-300mm 1:4-5.6
Tamron 2X Tele-Converter

I've managed to set $1500 aside in the last year in hopes of upgrading my lens. I understand it's not a great deal of money and I'll most likely be looking for something second hand. Can anyone suggest what my options may be in that limited price range? The main issue I'm having with my current setup is lack of sharpness (even without the tele-converter attached).
By Bluebird
Try looking at the Nikon 300mmf4.I see it out in the field a lot.Also try to get maybe a used Nikon 1.4 teleconverter be way better than the one you are using now.Ted
By Birder2000
I use Canon, so I am no expert on this, but I think a Nikon AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED or a Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/4D IF-ED would be two good options. I find eBay always has some good deals so you might want to look on there.
birder wrote:Also try to get maybe a used Nikon 1.4 teleconverter be way better than the one you are using now.
This is a good point. If you end up with a lens with an f/4 aperture or less, you could still have auto focus with a 1.4x. Investing on a teleconverter might also be a good idea if you can still auto focus.

I hope this helps! I asked about photography equipment on this forum when I was getting my DSLR and lens to replace my point and shoot, and the users of this forum helped me out so much!
By tindoc
The above post has got it right. The 300mm f 4 afs is razor sharp at f 8.0 and works well with the nikon 1.4 tele.
I've used it for years with great success. IMO it's the last stop before you go to the big glass.
Mine just sits in my bag now but I still can't seem to part with it.
By BChiker